If you are a student wishing to apply for the World Bank Scholarships 2024-2025, then you need to go through this piece of information. The World Bank Scholarships are awards given to international students to continue their studies.

These studies take place in one of 35 participating programs at universities in the United States, United Kingdom, Netherlands, Australia, Japan and France in key development areas. It provides funding for master’s studies in an eligible host country.


The World Bank’s Development Economics Vice Presidency (DEC) provides scholarships to students and young researchers, contributing to World Bank’s mission of forging new dynamic approaches to capacity development and knowledge sharing in the developing world.

The scholarship is an important component of the World Bank’s efforts providing fully funded scholarships to promote economic development and shared prosperity through investing in education, capacity building, and developing human resources in the developing world.

Since inception, the DEC’s scholarship programs have helped to form a pool of over 6,000 well-trained and experienced development professionals and scholars, transforming their countries and positively impacting future generations.


Eligibility Criteria for World Bank Scholarships

Applicants for the  World Bank Scholarships 2024-2025 must meet the following requirements:

  • Must be a citizen of a World Bank member country.
  • Not be a staff member of the World Bank and not also a close relative of a staff member.
  • Must have obtained relevant bachelor’s degree (or equivalent university degree) obtained at least three years before the application deadline.
  • Not be a dual citizen of a developed country.
  • Have at least three years of paid development-related employment since earning a Bachelor’s degree (or equivalent university degree) and acquired within the past six years from the date of the Application Deadline.
  • On or before the scholarship application deadline, applicants must have been admitted unconditionally (except for funding) for the upcoming academic year to any of the Participating Programs and located outside of the applicant’s country of citizenship and country of residence.

Eligible Countries:

The countries below are eligible for the World Bank Scholarships 2024/2025 academic session:

Africa: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, DR Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Morocco, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.


Europe: Ukraine, Kosovo.

America: Belize, Bolivia, Dominique, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Venezuela.

Asia: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Fiji, Honduras, Iraq, India, Indonesia, Lebanon, Myanmar, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Palestine, Pakistan, Philippines, Syrian Arab Republic, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen.


Benefits of World Bank Scholarships 2024-2025

The World Bank Scholarships provides the following benefits to beneficiaries:

  • Round-trip airfare between recipient’s home country and the host country.
  • Travel allowance of US$500 for each trip.
  • Tuition waiver
  • Basic medical coverage
  • On-campus housing
  • Monthly stipend.

Application Guide

Interested applicants for the World Bank Scholarships 2024 must have obtained an unconditional offer of admission from a participating program to be eligible. This means that applicants must have gone through the list of eligible participating programs at the different host universities and have applied for admission into their programs.

The following steps should be taken to apply for the scholarship:

  • Submit One Online Application: An application will be accepted and reviewed if the applicant submits only one completed application electronically through the online application site by the application deadline.
  • Online submission of Two recommendation letters from people who have direct knowledge of the applicant’s professional work experience.

Document Requirements

  1. Documentation that proves the applicant meets the eligibility requirement with regard to the number of years of recent development-related work.
  2. the applicant’s Bachelor’s degree diploma, and if applicable, also the diploma of the applicant’s most advanced graduate degree. (Do not include a transcript, or upload a transcript as a substitute for a diploma).
  3. Using the required application format and written in English or the language of the master’s degree program for which the applicant is seeking funding. If the work was not paid, do not include it in your CV. Instead, you can create a category “Volunteer Work” in your CV and list under that heading unpaid internships or other unpaid work.
  4. Unconditional (except for financing) Letter of Admission for the upcoming academic year to the participating master’s program.

Visit the Official Website for Further Details


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *